Bing & Grondahl roots reach back to 19 April 1853, when Frederik Vilhelm Grondahl as well as brothers Meyer and Jacob Bing founded it. Grøndahl had a great deal of experience with the production process involved from his years with the Royal Copenhagen. He died a year and a half later. Brotherd Bing were book and art dealers. The company started producing biscuit figures based on the works of Thorvaldsen, the renowned Danish sculptor.
The company in a few years became a contender in the ceramics market. In 1886 B&G introduced underglazed blue decorations. In 1895 was started a series of Christmas plates.
Three towers, a stylized castle mark and B&G initials have been a company logo since 1898.
In 1987 B&G merged with its biggest local competitor, Royal Copenhagen. The intention was to secure a strong position for the Danish art industry globally.