The porcelain factory at Ludwigsburg (Germany) was founded in 1758 by decree of Duke Karl Eugen von Wuerttemberg. Initially Ludwigsburger Porzellan-Fabrik wasn't prepared to start production as they still worked on the technological process.
In 1759 second director of the manufactory was appointed Joseph Jakob Ringler. His experience helped to start rapid development of the factory. Emphasis was placed on the highest quality artistic porcelain. 1760s and 1770s were the best years in Ludwigsburg's manufactory history. Already in 1760s they started to produce pieces inspired by classicism.
The factory thrived till 1775. This year Karl Eugen von Wuerttemberg decided to move his court to Stuttgart. The decline was also caused by not following contemporary artistic trends. Finally, in 1824, the manufactory was closed for economic reasons.
In 1919 an attempt was made to revive Ludwigsburg's traditions. The company Alt-Ludwigsburg GmbH was established. After loosing a lawsuit it was forced to change its name to Ludwigsburger Porzellanmanufaktur AG. The business survived only till 1927.
In 1948, Otto Wanner-Brandt founded the new company as a porcelain manufacturer Ludwigsburg GmbH. The production ended in January 2016.